French English
Français English

Habitat For Humanity Côte d'Ivoire
Abidjan | Cocody 2 Plateaux Les Vallons | (+225) 22 41 97 75
Tuesday, 11 December 2018

SOLID GROUND PROJECT




Plaidoyer

AXIS OF OUR ACTIONS

  • Conducting studies on the issue of land

  • Mobilizing local authorities and community leaders

  • Organization of awareness campaigns on the importance of property titles

  • Organizing joint visits of sensitization with the Sub-Prefects and the DR Construction

  • Technical and financial support to community leaders to facilitate the issuing of certificates village


PROGRAM DESCRIPTION


The Advocacy Program HFHCI is an advocacy campaign and promotion of access to property and land security of disadvantaged for the right to housing. Through its innovative project Solid Ground worldwide, HFHCI intends to participate in reforms to access to land ownership in favor of vulnerable groups, including rural women.
Indeed, HFHCI actor first plan on the ground continues to conduct operations to identify communities to form coalitions of groups to conduct advocacy campaigns with authorities on rural land security. This project for a period of 3 years should eventually enable the delivery of 6,000 village certificates to the applicants to facilitate their access to land. To this end, the SIADES firm conducted a study on the identification of the problem of land and housing in Ivory Coast in order to highlight all the problems related to land and housing.

CONCLUSION OF THE STUDY


The study was carried out in 16 localities of the 05 largest areas of the country (North, South, East, West and Center) to identify the problems related to housing and land. It emerged after the field investigations that the problems are related to ignorance of the texts and procedures related to land. Added to this, the technical problems and financial difficulties are also part of the challenges.
Regarding land issues for access to land, the study highlighted the shortage of urban land and the problems associated with the customary allocation of land. On the legal aspect, it should be noted that the difficulty of applying the 2013 legislative decree, even if it is an advantage for the average citizen. In addition, studies have also showed that the customary practices studies are also a factor depicting the inequality to access to land, including the transfer of land by inheritance. The study also mentioned the problem of rights issuance done in a symbolic manner and therefore appear to be illegally unsafe, the recurrent problem of land selling business done without any title deeds for the buyers are all issues deserving to be scrutinized . Therefore, it generally appears that the land access difficulties are a sad reality in every community who has been the subject of this study.


CEREMONY FOR THE RESTITUTION OF THE STUDY CARRIED OUT


The ceremony on identifying the problems of land and housing in Cote D’ivoire was held on Saturday, 18th of February 2017, in the town of Katiola, precisely at the Hambol hotel. Indeed, The meeting was attended by the administrative authorities, customary and mutual development of the region and the Hambol GBEKE community. Speaking on behalf of the Prefect of the Hambol region, the Prefect of the Department of Katiola, Mr.GNAHORE Ligui Pierre, General Secretary of the Prefecture of Katiola, said that this study helps provide legal tools for policy makers and useful for the public authorities to facilitate access to land titles and housing for all.

He thanked Habitat for Humanity Cote D’ivoire for the initiative which is in line with the Government and helping to reduce poverty and social inequality for a peaceful and lasting social cohesion.

The SIADES firm that exposed his study, allowed the audience to know the real problems related to land and housing, among others, lack of information and awareness of populations, difficult access to land because customary rights, inadequate technical and human resources of decentralized structures, the administrative burden and inequalities based on gender.

To these problems, few solutions have been proposed by the SIADES firm to land difficulties.

This included on the one hand for the state, the local governments and technical bodies to raise awareness, to simplify and to reduce the CDD acquisition procedures (Concession decision decree), to facilitate the easy access to CDD counters and carry out new allotments developments.

On the other end, the meeting was necessary for organizations of the civil society, including NGOs that are supposed to raise awareness on the importance of legal texts and the importance of the CDD to initiate affordable housing projects in small towns taking into account the social status of applicants. At the end of that ceremony of restitution, participants were confident about the quality of the proposals and their applications on the field.

Français Anglais
Français English

Habitat For Humanity Côte d'Ivoire
Abidjan | Cocody 2 Plateaux Les Vallons | (+225) 22 41 97 75
Jeudi, 15 Novembre 2018

PROJET SOLID GROUND


Plaidoyer

Axes de nos interventions

  • Conduite d’études sur la problématique du foncier
  • Mobilisation les autorités locales et les leaders communautaires
  • Organisation des campagnes de sensibilisation sur l’importance des titres de propriétés
  • Organisation des visites conjointes de sensibilisations avec les Sous-Préfets et les DR de la Construction
  • Appui technique et financiers aux leaders communautaires pour Faciliter la délivrance des attestations villageoise

Description du programme


Le programme Advocacy de HFHCI est une campagne de plaidoyer et de promotion de l’accès à la propriété et à la sécurité foncière des couches défavorisées pour le droit au logement. A travers son projet novateur Solid Ground partout dans le monde, HFHCI entend participer aux reformes pour l’accès à la propriété foncière en faveurs des groupes vulnérables, notamment les femmes en milieu rural.
En effet, HFHCI acteur de 1er plan sur le terrain continue de mener des interventions pour l’identification des communautés dans le but de former des groupes de coalitions afin de mener des campagnes de plaidoyer auprès des autorités sur la sécurité foncière rurale. Ce projet d’une durée de 3 ans devrait à terme, permettre la délivrance de 6.000 attestations villageoises aux requérants afin de leur faciliter l’accès à la terre. A cet effet, le cabinet SIADES a mené une étude sur l’identification de la problématique du foncier et du logement en Côte d’Ivoire afin de ressortir tous les problèmes liés à la terre et à l’habitat.

Conclusion de l'étude


L’étude a été conduite dans 16 localités des 05 grandes zones du pays (Nord, Sud, Est, Ouest et Centre) afin d’identifier les problèmes liés au logement et à la terre. Il est ressorti au terme des enquêtes sur le terrain que les problèmes sont liés à l’ignorance des textes et procédures relatifs au foncier. A cela s’ajoutent, les problèmes d’ordre technique et les difficultés d’ordre financier. En ce qui concerne les problèmes fonciers pour l’accès à la terre, l’étude a mis en lumière la pénurie des terrains urbains et les problèmes liés à l’attribution coutumière des terrains.
Au niveau juridique, il est à noter que la difficulté d’application du décret de loi de 2013, même si celle-ci est bénéfique pour le citoyen lambda. En outre, les études aussi ont démontré que les pratiques coutumières constituent aussi un facteur d’inégalité d’accès à la terre, notamment la transmission des terres par voie de succession, l’attribution par voie symbolique et la vente illégale des terrains sont des obstacles majeurs à l’accès à la terre pour tous. Par conséquent, il ressort globalement que les difficultés d’accès au foncier sont une triste réalité dans toutes les localités qui ont fait l’objet de cette étude.


CEREMONIE DE RESTITUTION DE L'ETUDE


Tenue le samedi 18 février 2017, la cérémonie de restitution de l’étude sur l’identification de la problématique du foncier et du logement en Côte d’Ivoire a eu pour cadre la commune de Katiola, précisément à l’hôtel Hambol. En effet, cette rencontre a vu la présence des autorités administratives, coutumières et des mutuelles de développement de la région du Hambol et du Gbêkê. Prenant la parole au nom du Préfet de la région du Hambol, Préfet du département de Katiola, M GNAHORE Ligui Pierre, Secrétaire Général de la Préfecture de Katiola, a déclaré que cette étude permet de donner des instruments juridiques aux décideurs et pouvoirs publics afin de faciliter l’accès au titre foncier et au logement pour tous.

Pour cela, il a remercié Habitat for Humanity Côte d’Ivoire pour son initiative qui s’inscrit dans la droite ligne du Gouvernement et qui contribue à réduire la pauvreté et les inégalités sociales pour un climat de paix et une cohésion sociale durable.

Le cabinet SIADES qui a exposé son étude, a permis à l’auditoire de connaitre les réels problèmes liés au foncier et au logements, entre autres, le manque d’information et de sensibilisation des populations, les difficultés d’accès à la terre à cause des droits coutumiers, l’insuffisance des moyens techniques et humains des structures décentralisées, la lourdeur administrative et les inégalités basées sur le genre.

A ces différents problèmes, quelques solutions ont été proposées par le cabinet SIADES en vue de palier ses difficultés.

Il s’agissait notamment d’une part pour l’Etat, les collectivités locales et les structures techniques de sensibiliser les populations, de simplifier et réduire les procédures d’acquisition de l’ACD (Arrêté de Concession Définitif), de favoriser la proximité des guichets de l’ACD aux demandeurs et de procéder régulièrement aux nouveaux lotissements.

Et d’autre part pour les organisations de la société civile, notamment les ONG, il s’agissait de sensibiliser les populations sur les textes et l’importance de l’ACD, d’initier des opérations de logements très abordables dans les petites agglomérations en tenant compte du niveau social des demandeurs. A la clôture de cette restitution, les participants se sont montrés confiants quant à la qualité des propositions faites et leurs applications sur le terrain.